About Us

ETTF- The Organisation

The highest authority of the European Timber Trade Federation (ETTF) is the General Assembly, at which all member federations are represented. The Assembly meets at least twice a year, and for in order to best serve the specific interests of the timber industry’s various sectors, members are organised in sections, according to their trade or industry; softwood, hardwood or plywood. These different sections also meet, whenever there is a particular need.

The ETTF is also jointly responsible, with the European Organisation of the Sawmill Industry (EOS), for organising and convening the annual International Softwood Conference (ISC) and the International Hardwood Conference (IHC).  These are held in a different European location each time, hosted by a national member Association or Federation member of either the ETTF or EOS. The 2015 IHC took place in Copenhagen and was hosted by the Danish Timber Trade Federation, while the ISC was held in Amsterdam, hosted by the Netherlands Timber Trade Federation. The next ISC will take place in 2016 in Paris, while the venue for the IHC will be announced shortly.  Reports on both can be found on the ETTF website.  

A united voice for the industry

The European Timber Trade Federation (ETTF) represents the interests of both timber and wood product importers across Europe, and also of non-importing merchants, distributors and traders. Both have their own sections within the Federation to focus on the specific interests and needs of their sector, while on other pan-industry topics and issues the ETTF operates on a united basis, representing and lobbying on behalf of the entire industry to national and EU authorities and key decision makers in the market place. 

In total the ETTF today has 17 member federations.

Associate Members

The ETTF also offers Associate Membership. Current Associate Members are the European Federation of Parquet Importers (EFPI), which represents timber floor importers across Europe, the International Tropical Timber Techincal Association/Association Technique Internationale des Bois Tropicaux (ATIBT)  and the individual companies HF Blom of Norway and Robelbois Group of Morocco.

The ETTF Board

The members of the Board of the European Timber Trade Federation are elected by the General Assembly.  Current Members of the Board are: President and Softwood Section Chairman Andreas von Möller; Hardwood Section Chairman Armand Stockmans; Plywood Section Chairman Raul Dedonder; Palle Thomsen, Géraud Spire and Secretary General André de Boer.

The ETTF was formed at a members' meeting of the Union pour le commerce des bois durs dans l’U. E. (UCBD Hardwood Trade Association), Union pour le commerce d’importation de panneaux en bois (UCBR Wood Panels Importers’ Association) and Union pour le commerce des bois résineux dans l’U. E. (UCIP Softwood Trade Association), which passed a resolution on the foundation of the organisation subject to the simultaneous termination of these associations.

Click here for the ETTF concept regulations.